Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Better Heads Welcomes Your Comments on the PIVOTRIM.....

Dear Valued Customers,

Better Heads has worked very hard to design products that truly make our customers lives better.

With the recent introduction of the PIVOTRIM Replacement Gas Trimmer Head we have created this blog to offer a forum for your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to share.

Best Regards,

Better Heads LLC
http://www.betterheadsllc.com
800-431-4177

98 comments:

Billy - Dickinson, TX said...

The first time I used the PivoTrim I wasn't sure how well it would really work. However, once I started using it I was very impressed. I have a lot of chain link fence and I was able to trim all 250 feet without stopping.

I would recommend this product to anyone who does a lot of trimming. It has saved me a lot of time and frustration.

John Andrews said...

I am very happy with my pivotrim trimmer head. I used to get really aggrivated with the spool system. This one is much easier to load and last a really long time.

Last time out I cut my whole yard and never had to mess with the line. Much better than the old systems.

Anonymous said...

Daniel..says

This trimmer head really works. I was able to do my whole yard.

I will recommend this trimmer head for sure. PIVOTRIM YOU REALLY GOT SOMETHING GOOD. THAT WORKS.

Anonymous said...

I notice your instructions state consult your owners manual to remove the head on the trimmer. Most of the trimmers on the market do not go to that detail in the manuals. ( I have 3 different kinds and none provide those instructions)

I have begun using the PIVOTRIM on one of the trimmers and have found it works well. More trials may convince me to replace the heads on the other models.

J.S. Pearland

Anonymous said...

We had a Weed Eater Featherlite trimmer, and Support@pivotrim.com advised us to remove the head of the trimmer, and then attach the Pivottrim attachment. The trimmer has worked extremely well since we made the change. 'Thanx' Pivotrim, for a good product.

Jack Lyons

Anonymous said...

David, you and Mike have a great product with the Pivotrim. I have it installed on an old 2 line Homelite which is a bit shy of power, but it pulls two strings fine. I was amazed at how well the Pivotrim works. I cut all the stuff that one finds on a fence row including small trees, small privet hedge plants, waist high poke, honeysuckle, poison ivy, grass and weeds to name a few. I also found it does a super job trimming walks. I was amazed just how long the line lasted before it finally gave up. It's head and shoulders superior to any line trimmer systems I've ever tried. I'm sure it would be even more impressive using all four lines. There's no shortage of growth here in Arkansas so I feel sure it's going to make my life easier keeping the stuff cut down around my yard.

Your Arkansas cousin,
Jimmie Trewitt

W Harrison said...

A really great design. Works as claimed. Have tried many others but this one far ahead of them all.

A Very Satisfied Customer!

wlh

Anonymous said...

A big THANK YOU "Pivotrim" for this product. It has done away with the frustration I've experienced with using my weedeater. Now, the trimming I have to do is more of a pleasure than aggravation.

JS

robdenferg said...

Hey, my names Robert, I work for Children's Homes, Inc. I recently purchased this article at Gazaway Ace Hardware in Paragould,AR. I am in charge of campus beautification, we have about 10 acres, that I have to keep cleaned up, lots of buildings, driveways, and sidewalks. This pivotrim is great,I had to put more gas into the trimmer before changing the worn out line. It saved me a lot of time and headache. Thanks for such a great product.

tina said...

I absolutely love this product. It has made my job so much easier. I would recommend it to anyone.

Bruce S said...

I have been trimming for forty years, and have battled every trimmer head problem all this time....until I read about your product in the paper, and purchased it. It works great! I would pay double the price. I have never written anyone ever about a product....but yours prompted me. It just plane works, I don't have to change the line as often, and changing is easy as pie. thanks,
> Bruce S. Kingwood, TX

Kevin said...

Man... What a difference this made !!! I have a homelite trimmer and have always struggled with the bump-feed... I installed your Pivo Trim product in 2-minutes and it was a pleasure trimming/edging my lawn rather than a burden... Can't wait until next week to try it again :) !!

Anonymous said...

Better Heads nothin...BadAss Heads should be the name of this company. I couldn't brlieve it!! Trimed an entire acre with fence and didn't have to stop. This product is a must for anyone who uses a line trimmer.

Patrick - Antioch, Il

Taft Mohair said...

The PIVOTRIM is the best product I have ever purchased to help me in my yard! It cut my weed eating time in half!!! This product has worked beyond my expectation and the customer service is EXCELLENT! I am encouraging my father and all of my brothers to get a PIVOTRIM!!
Taft Mohair

Nels said...

I am totally amazed. This thing trimmed down 50 feet of blackberry without a single line change. It is probably the best purchase I have made in years.

I recommend it to anyone who owns a trimmer.

NJ...Fort Bragg, CA

charlie_jenny said...

We have a Weedeater on wheels I got last year. The head on it has been a pain to change line. It just came apart at last. I went to Wal-mart to see what kind of replacement heads they had. I bought one of those as seen on TV heads. I installed it and started out only to change the lines with the ball on them 4 times in about 30 feet of cutting. I took it back and bought a Pivotrim. I didn't think it looked that great with that small line and all. I found that everything about your replacement head is outstanding. I have done a lot of trimming and I'm still on my first set of lines. The only downside is I don't get all the rest breaks I did before. It just keeps on cutting and cutting. The best thing I have bought in years.

John said...

could someone tell me if the pivottrim works on a poulan pro model pp025? i got this last year, and i have to replace the bottom shaft after i tried to install the grass gator....never got an after market head to work on my string trimmer, and i dont want to be disappointed again

Anonymous said...

John,

The PivoTrim should fit your Poulan. We include 18 pieces of hardware (7 more than the other guys) to maximize compatability.

Thanks,

Mike Watts
President, Better Heads LLC
800-431-4177
www.pivotrim.com

Jerry said...

Testimonials are great. Just ordered a head can't wait to try it, let you know how it works, I,m using an ECHO 2100 hope it works. Tired of the string winding and tnen it wont feed and it's down time to try and fix it.

Jerry said...

It arrived, the hardest part of installing the PIVOTRIM was getting it out of the package. After installing it I purposefully run it along some of the chain link fencing in the back yard, very closely and hard against, and guess what it held up the old string head I would have been banging it on the ground and maybe it would have extended the line.
GREAT PRODUCT

Jerry Castro said...

Hello, I am anxious to try the pivotrim(have a huge back yard).
Ordered it on July 6, 2007(today is July 24, 2007) and it still has not arrived. Just wanted to let the guys who invented it know that Priority Mail(instead of Flat Rate) shipping would be a plus(even if it is a little extra $).

Jerry Castro said...

Hello, I finally received the Pivotrim on July 27, 2007 and it was worth the wait. This product is a great innovation compared to the "older" systems out there. I found it to be a quieter performer and to get the job done in at least half the time. However, I did experience line break-off at the edges. That is probably because I am a "rough" grass cutter. I cut through everything near rocks, tree stumps, branches and even the ground(to get that "crew cut" like look). Another draw back I found was that the product only accepts a .095 size line. It would be a plus if it would accept the stronger lines up to size .155. Overall, this product receives my thumbs up and I would recommend it to anyone who uses a trimmer to cut grass.

Charles Miller said...

I purchased the PivoTrim this summer because I was sick and tired of stopping my yardwork every 5 minutes to adjust the old coiled line in my gas trimmer. I don't think I have to tell anybody out there how frustrating and inefficient the standard line feeding method is.

At first I was very pleased with the PivoTrim, using the line that was supplied with the trimmer head.

HOWEVER, when I purchased the Pivotrim "Premium Replacement Line," I was soon frustrated all over again. The "premium" replacement line was so brittle, it disintegrated rapidly under normal use, much faster than the old coil line. I mean, just trimming the 50-foot walkway to my front door, I had to change the PivoTrim "premium" replacement line 3 times. And that's ridiculous.

The PivoTrim trimmer head may be a good idea, but I simply can't recommend the PivoTrim Premium Replacement Line. It was a waste of money.

CharlesMiller@bellsouth.net

mrbsb said...

Best trimmer product ever used. I can do more with a homelite featherlite girls model than with my more power-tool time, stihl straight shaft using only 2 strings and doing brutal heavy rock and shrub work. And I mean heavy shrubs. This thing is a gift from God. I read one complaint and wonder if the person uses his personal car to pull a semi trailer or bulldozes with a garden tractor. You have hit one out of the park with this item. Please don't disappear from the market. You have my HIGHEST recommendation.

Anonymous said...

Sent: Monday, September 10, 2007 5:12 PM
To: sales@betterheadsllc.com
Subject: Pivotrim


Dave,

Spoke with you on the phone today about the Pivotrim. After we talked I
used it for the first time. It turned my regular-wheel drive weed eater
into a 4-wheel drive!!! Love how you don't have to keep tapping the
ground, and best of all, how you don't have to fidget with the "bird
nest" factor in the old head.

The line cuts great and I usually have to get into the head of my old
one three or four times while trimming my lawn. Never had to stop with
the Pivotrim. Cuts work time way down! The lawn looks great!

The Pivotrim is a permament fixture on my weed eater now!

K. J.
Sevierville, TN

Anonymous said...

quick story (turned long)
I have a stihl fs80 and started with the old bump and feed. My dealer convinced me that I was doing it wrong so I continued with my aggravation. Still more problems. Finally I switch to a fixed head, where you feed 8 inches of line into the eyelets. My first try, I lost the line within the first 3 seconds of starting. The spring does not hold the line, AGGGHHHH!!!

Well it gets better. I did some research and looked at several youtube videos of pivotrim. I went to their website, which says that Home Depot carries it, but they did not have their shipment in (sometime this week). I then ordered it online through the pivotrim website and it wasn't until I found this thread that I heard that it was at Walmart.

I went to my Walmart today - 4-12-2008 - and BOOM there it is!! So I pick it up and on my way home I call the 800 number and leave a message saying, hey I found it at walmart and want to cancel my order.

Within the HOUR I get a phone call back, from the PRESIDENT!! ON A SATURDAY AFTERNOON!!! Who is glad I found it and going to credit my card, Sweeet! And what a nice guy!

SO I take it home, and boom it starts raining but three minutes later I have a new head on my Stihl, Well a little rain doesn't stop me!!

THE PIVOTRIM WORKS WONDERS!!!
I USED IT FOR MY ENTIRE YARD WITH BRICKS, STONE, CONCRETE, EDGING ETC AND DID NOT NEED TO REPLACE THE LINE ONCE!!!
WHAT A GREAT IDEA AND INVENTION

NEEDLESS TO SAY I WILL BE A PIVOTRIM USER FOR LIFE!!
Oh, and listen to this, My neighbor comes out to see me trimming in the rain. I show him the new head, tell him how good it worked and bam, he's on his way to get one. TOO COOL!

If you cant find it at Home Depot or Walmart, GIVE THEM A CALL AND THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO TELL YOU WHO HAS THEM IN STOCK ((800) 431-4177

Anonymous said...

The day before I bought PivoTrim, I had purchased the as seen on tv version. It didn't work out. After installation, I put on a weed-wacking spectacle. I did end up using the first set of of ties, and burned through half of the second; though, with the easy loading time and no spool to deal with, it made it less frustrating than ever. I'd recommend this product to anyone. Great job guys!

B.Peacher
Olathe, KS

Bruce R.I. said...

A great product. I can install a new set of line in less time than the bump and feed fiasco could make more line available. It's simple and it works!

Vermont Dave said...

I was using a two string tough line trimer head which shall remain nameless (Weedthrasher)

It worked fine until I re-ordered new line. The new line was inferior, substantially inferior, to the original product. I looked on their site for a better quality line but there was nothing.

Your product was the answer.

The head replacement was a piece of cake and the double lines work great. I got through the entire lawn, rocks, trees and all, (about an acre) without having to change the lines. The new lines on the old product would have required at least six changes (really) and a lot of curse words.

Stay in business, you have a lifetime client.

Vermont Dave

KEVIN W. said...

Pivot trim is the best system I have found yet. I have a Ryobi Trimmer and every other system that has said "Universal" on it DOES NOT work with Ryobi. It took me all of 10 minutes to put the system on my trimmer and I usually can trim my whole yard with only one set of cutters and still have some left over.I already have recomended this system to 10 people and they hae told me how much they like it. Ocassionslly I have trouble finding replacement cutters locally, but most of the clerks I ask about them say they cannot keep them in stock, they arrive and are gone within 2 days.
The only real problem I have with this system is that I did not invent it.

Thank you for coming up with a system that really works.

Anonymous said...

Comments: Awesome!!! I bought a Homelite string trimmer and it was a nightmare. I tried to take it back after a month of total frustration. But the retailer said I could have it fixed but they would not give me my money back. I told them there's nothing to fix, it's a flawed design. I tried everything from lubricants to high end string. I spent more time fiddling with the string than I did working on the yard. I finally tossed it in the corner and got out my old electric. Then I saw your product. It works fantastic!! Way to go! I will be telling anyone who will listen about your product. Jerry
(This comment was sent to our Pivotrim e-mail account)

ron said...

Ronnie- Maylene Alabama-Got the pivotrim 4/4/09 tried to install on a mightylite for about an hour emailed the website they called back in 5min with info had it going in 10 THANKS Mike good stuff

Gary said...

Absolutely great! Does an excellent job and lasts. Bought it several years ago at a local home show. Was skeptical, but after my first use, I was very impressed. It's as good as they claim! Be sure to use the correct size nylon line. If you use line that is too small (example .080), the lines will jerk out with the first use.

Derek said...

Just purchased the PivoTrim at Ace Hardware in Brenham, TX and was able to edge my whole yard without touching the line. Normally I have to change the line 2 times and take it apart because it breaks inside the head 4-5 ties! I have a nice trimmer and have tried everything and hated to do the lawn for this reason. Thanks you!!!!

Anonymous said...

I can't wait to try this. I've been plagued by the string feed type for a long time, breaking, re-spooling very carefully and still not feeding correctly. In fact, I picked up gas trimmers today in an estate sale just so I could switch from the electric trimmers I have to gas ones so as to get rid of the string feed type.

Endless searching on Google tonight indicated the PivoTrim type is the best as discussed by actual users. I was also extremely pleased when I found your conversion kit covers numerous manufacturers and models. Additionally, it is available at ACE. So, you have made a believer here even though I've not yet tried it...

The You Tube videos on how to convert a gas trimmer string feed type to the PivoTrim were extremely well done. That was what fully convinced me to try the PivoTrim.

DT

Anonymous said...

head is cheaply made and wastes alot of line when you reload and it is a pain to reload if the shield is on the trimmer.

Anonymous said...

The stock Tap-N-Go head shattered on my old WeedEater 1700 and I figured it was time for a new trimmer. While surveying the selection of trimmers at Home Depot I saw your PIVOTRIM replacement and went home with it instead. It installed in a minute and is a big improvement over the original cutting head.

J. Mills said...

I have used the pivotrim for the last four years It has very excellent quality, works great, and the companys customer service is second to none great job. I highly recomend the pivotrim and will buy another one when I need a new replacement head for my weed eater.

joe.hardy said...

I have used this head for about 2 months. I bought it at the start of the season and agree that it works absolutely great trimming with the head parallel to the ground. But it will NOT trim with the head perpendicular to the ground for edging a driveway or sidewalk, All four lines break almost immediately when using the trimmer as an edger. When replacing the lines and starting again, I can go about six feet edging and all four lines break again. This product is great for trimming but not recommended for edging.

Anonymous said...

After purchasing a professional model gas trimmer from an authorized dealer
and dealing with the bump & feed head that came with it, I was very unhappy
- not at the trimmer but the bump & feed head.

I have about 200 feet of chain link and many other obstacles I need to trim.
The line kept snapping and I had to literally take apart the bump & feed
head to restring about every 5 minutes.

Fed up, I searched on replacement head options, stumbled on Pivotrim site &
took a look.

Since it was available at the local big box store and is reasonably priced,
although a little reluctant, I gave it a try.

Had it installed in about 3 minutes just as the website shows.

Amazing, is all I can say! What a difference!

Will never use a bump & feed again.

I can do the entire trim process in 15 - 20 minutes versus 1+hours.

Although I don't need to, I do replace the line each time I'm done using it
so I know it's fresh for the next job. The line pieces can be cut and
inserted within 2 minutes.

The Pivotrim is awesome!

Anonymous said...

Comments: I purchased a pivotrim trimmer today and loved how it performed. :) Apparently I did not have it on tight enough and it flew off of my trimmer. I managed to find everything except the adapter cap and metal washer so I called the company and spoke to a gentleman named David. I told him the whole sad story and he was AWESOME! He said it was no problem to send me the parts I needed at NO CHARGE and reviewed the installation instructions with me. Customer service like this is just unheard of these days. I will be telling all my friends about your company and how great you treat your customers. Keep up the good work and thanks for a great product.

Dick M.
East Troy WI
(posted to our e-mail)

Anonymous said...

I am actually disappointed with the Pivotrim head, because it is not as Universal as it says it it... Does not work for my Stihl model weed eater

Anonymous said...

I used my new Pivotrim today for the first time and I have to say it seems to be everything you say it is in your TV ad. I installed it on my Echo curved shaft trimmer in about 2 minutes and after an hours use the lines were still good and useable. Normally I would have to change lines 5 or 6 times to do the same amount of work. Looks like you claim that "line lasts 20X Longer" is for real. You have made a believer out of me. Thanks for a great product. Kindest regards, RC
(E-mail sent to our customer service department)

Anonymous said...

You have low business etihics. You do not display the S & H anywhere on your website and ask for a credit card number first.

This is a slimy trick used by a lot of "As seen on TV"-type organizations to rip thier customers off. Is that why you did it too?

michaelkanako said...

OK, Everybody, get ready for some honesty. Here is my profile: I ALWAYS but top-quality tools because I believe "you get what you pay for". However, if it can be broken, I'll break it. I don't mind work, but I HATE messing around with a tool that doesn't perform. JUST LET ME WORK!

I ordered the pro-series Pivotrim for that reason. I decide to call the 800 number with a few questions before it arrivesd. I sit back and expect to wait, push this, push that and much to my surprise, a HUMAN answered!! Not just any human, but "The Man" who politely answered all my questions. Then, a few hours later, "it" arrived.

I install it and begin work. OK, it does fine along the brick. Then my wifes flower beds...but wait, I have chain-link fence! OK, it's still doing fine..but I'm getting kinda mad-remember, I can break ANYTHING...and it's still working. It's time to take off the gloves and head for the blackberry bushes. Stalks, the size of my thumb succumb without a fight.

No, the line doesn't last forever. But finally, I have a quality tool that lets me do my work and not spend my day cursing the line.

Lets see, nice people, quality product, reasonable price, excellent service...Yea, I guess you really can't ask for much more.

Steve Applebee said...

THANK YOU for this product..it has saved me HOURS of work and miles of trimmer line. The old factory trimmer heads are made to USE LINE so you have to buy more. This trimmer head is GREAT I cut my trimming time from 2 hrs to 30 mins. And I never had to replace the line once. Before I had to refill my old trimmer head at least 20 times to do my yard. GREAT PRODUCT ...GOLD STAR AND A COOKIE to the designers. TY TY TY

Doug said...

I have seen over thousand of adverstise on TV, Newspapers, web and very skeptical about the products. There was last Thursday (May 27, 2010) I saw PIVOTRIM on TV commercial and at first I was not impressed as many other products. However, I thought about it which made more sense and smart to have more lines on trimmers. Then I went on-line and researched about PIVOTRIM that has very good feedback from Customers. Friday morning, I went on-line and ordered it. And then I went to HomeDepot to check it out in Friday afternoon. Fair enough, HomeDepot carries PIVOTRIM and I decided to call Techsupport at PIVOTRIM and discussed about return it. I spoke to Mike who is nice and got the process of cancellation right away. Saturday morning, I went back to HomeDepot and bought the PIVOTRIM which works as it says on the ad and I love it because I did not stop to change the lines or restarted the trimmer. I loved it and I bought two more for two my brothers. It's hard to find to good product, warm welcome at Techsupport, and good service. PIVOTRIM has them all!

I definitely recommend this product!

Anonymous said...

Just bought a Pivotrim head yesterday and installed it today.

Positive feedback comment #1 - Although the installation is rather simple, I was still having a problem (the problem was something to do with the removal of the old head, not the installation of the Pivotrim). Anyway, I decided to call the Pivotrim 800#, and within a minute or two, the Cust Svc rep had solved my problem.

Positive feedback point #2 - after putting on the new head, I trimmed my concrete walkway and paver driveway, without a single line break. I have never done that before...not even close (and I had tried three different heads and two different trimmers). I'm impressed with this thing.

Benaboo said...

I don't usually leave feedback for things like this, but here is one product that totally revolutionized the trimming process. I was so irritated with my trimmer, I was about to throw it out and go looking for one where the spooling function worked properly. I'd refill and the whole thing would be gone in one trimming session, or it wouldn't come out at all. I didn't know it was a widespread problem, I just thought it had to do with the $100 Craftsman cheapo model I bought. Then I saw the Pivotrim ad on television and thought I'd give it a shot. I got it this week, installed it today, and went out and trimmed the yard. All I can say is this thing is amazing. I didn't notice any lack of cutting power due to the pivots (one online review mentioned this), and I trimmed the whole yard, including 200' of chain link fence and the lines aren't even worn. I'm amazed. This is one of those "as seen on TV" products that really works, and that I'd recommend in a heartbeat. The inventor is a genius. Now I can spend my time trimming instead of futzing with the spooling mechanism.

Marvin said...

Why wouldn't Pivotrim work with electric trimmers?

Mike said...

There is a variety of reasons why the PivoTrim (or any other after-market universal trimmer head) will not fit electric and battery powered units. In most instances, there simply is no way to attach the Pivotrim as our product requires a threaded attaching point. We understand that electric users are as frustrated as gas trimmer users. Thank you for your interest in our products. Please feel free to contact us with any other questions or concerns.
Better Heads LLC

Herb said...

I am most interested in this item, will it fit a gasoline Shindawa Model S18U?

Mike said...

Hi Herb,
So far we have fit all Shindaiwa models of gas trimmers. Please contact our customer service department at 800-431-4177 if you have further questions.

Anonymous said...

I bought a Pivotrim head for my Poulan weedeater last year, and it has performed as well or better than expected. My wife prefers to use the lighter and smaller cc Weedeater. Since it specifies .080 line and uses 2, I don't think it has the guts for 4 (2 doubled) .095 lines. My question is: Do you have the line pivot studs for a smaller diameter line? Maybe .080 or even .065 holes? At least two reviews said not to use smaller than .095 because the line came out. I think the Pivotrim is great, but it would be nice if it could be used with smaller trimmers. Dean

beard trimmer said...

Nice razor burn free shave on face and neck but not so close of a shave on the head. Overall not a bad shaver.

Bernie Hayden said...

I put this on my Stihl FSE 60. It's an electric curved shaft trimmer. I got it to work but it's a bit dicey. I had to use the Hex Adapter which is actually a bit too long. It only allows about half of the treads on the nut to engage but it works. I'm impressed. Bought this a Home Depot. I'm not the type to buy things from TV ads because they're usually a scam. This trimmer head is the real deal. I still like my Grass Gator for some jobs, like black berry vines, but this head will see more general use. It really does save the string when trimming up against rocks, bricks, small trees, etc. that would otherwise eat through the string in no time. Haven't tried the chain link fence yet; that will be the ultimate test.

Anonymous said...

After purchasing my PivoTrim I had trouble with fitting it onto my Husqvarna trimmer. One call to customer service got me a FAST response with step-by-step help over the phone, I was amazed how helpful they were.

A great product and GREAT service.

Anonymous said...

I just installed the Pivotrim on my Stihl trimmer. The directions said to use the nut that fit my shaft. I did this and plier tightened it and it seems to work. However, it scares me a little that only about 1/4 of the nut threads have been used. Am I doing something wrong?

John

Mike said...

Hi John,
Our instructions request that you contact us for Stihl models as there are some models that require adaptations for the installation. I suspect yours is one of them. Please discontinue using until you can contact our office 800-431-4177, so that we can supply you the proper part to complete the correct installation. This is of course at no charge.
Mike, Better Heads LLC

Mike said...

You can use this as a testimonial from me:
I got the Pivotrim and immediately installed it on my 17 year old trimmer. I then went out and cut away old, overgrown ivy from a 50 foot long 3 foot wide path bordering a rock wall on the back of my property. The Pivotrim went through the tough old ivy very efficiently, and exposed the formerly hidden rock wall. There was only minor wear on the cutting lines when I was done. If I'd have tried this with the bump spool formerly on the trimmer I'd have wound up replacing whole spools of line four times at least. This product works as advertised. If I ever have to buy a new trimmer again, I'll replace the stock cutting mechanism with a Pivotrim before I even start it up.
Regards,

B. Thomas

Anonymous said...

My brother bought one and I installed it for him. Worked great on a chain link fence. I have a 4 cycle Cub Cadet and installed it on mine. Normally I am replacing the one line 5 or 6 times to weed my entire yard. Still working on the original line and have done my yard twice. Unbelievable...

Nathan said...

I have used regular weed eater line for a year now and always had to refill it-multiple times in one sitting.

I just used the Pivotrim for the first time today and I was very impressed! I don't usually leave reviews but this thing dominates!

Thanks guys, keep up the good work and innovation.

Anonymous said...

Yeah I bought the PivotTrim and was looking forward to tackling some of the ahrd to cut areas in my yard. I have a pretty decent trimmer wich is a Bolens 250, but guess what? None of the parts PivoTrim provided will fit my Bolens trimmer. I am very disappointed. Hopefully they can give mea refund.

PIVOTRIM said...

I would like to let you know that we do indeed fit the Bolens model 250. It is a straight shaft unit with a shaft extension. Please contact our office at 800-431-4177 or sales@betterheadsllc.com and we would be happy to provide you with specific installation instructions for that unit. From our installation sheet however, you will follow Method 4. Best Regards,
Charm, Customer Support, Better Heads LLC

Anonymous said...

August 06, 2010
From: Jorge Alvarez
To: Pivotrim Customer Services
Gentlemen.
My whole experience dealing with Pivotrim has been so annoying, so frustrating and so disenchanting, that first I want to let you know at front about it, and secondly, I will share my story on the net, so other people don't get caught ingeniously and innocently like it happens to me, and perhaps save people from going through the bad experience I had.
Everything started with the adv. that Pivotrim has on TV. Basically people believe that what they are acquiring is the whole equipment the trimmer and .• the head, that's not true. Later, during the process of ordering on line the product, once you hit a key to any of the multiples offers they are giving you, there is not return, thy will hit you with the total amount, no chance to cancel anything.
Then an unhappy surprise. When you received their product, which in my case came in a small plastic envelope, the first though you have is: this must be a mistake, where is the equipment I ordered? Well, bad news for you, there is not any equipment, only the head of the trimmer.
But perhaps, the worst of all, is the shipping cost. They rip you with these charges.
In my case, the total amount of the products I ordered were $ 72.70 and they charged me $31.80 for shipping, which represents 44% of the cost of the product and a 30% of the total invoice. But it doesn't finished there, the whole order fitted in a small plastic envelope with a total weight of 2lbs 11.40 oz. By the time I returned the order (because I did), I sent the product back via Priority Mail, and it cost me $9.95. Finally, the end of the drama was the refund credit they sent me for a total amount of $68.04 from a total invoice of $104.50, so I ended with empty hands and loosing $45.01, $ 35.86 they ripped from me plus the $9.95 I have paid to send the product back.
I have regretted so much the day I decided to contact Pivotrim, because ironically, in addition to all the above explained, there are trimmers for sale in places like Sears, Home Depot, etc., for just a little bit more of what I ended loosing.
So, my advice for anyone thinking about to buy Pivotrim would be THINK IT TWICE BEFORE THET ROB YOU.
With shame to have contacted you in the first place, an unhappy buyer
Jorge Alvarez

John -Hamlin ,NY said...

I have to admit I was a bit skeptical of Pivotrim. I bought it last night at Home Depot in Rochester NY. And Let me tell you people this product is the real deal. I used it today on my Sears grass trimmer. I trimmed all my chain link fence and when I was done the lines on the Pivotrim showed no worn what so ever. And that's the Truth. Great Product and A+ goes to the Designer of Pivotrim....Finally something on a infomercial that wasn't full of Crap!!!!

John- Hamlin, NY said...

I meant the lines show no wear of any kind. I'm so excited about this product that it mess up my grammar for a few minutes. lol...

Anonymous said...

Can anyone confirm if this will fit a Troy-Bilt TB539E ? This is a newer unit that comes with a new head called speedspool2. The power head is just fine but the head is terrible and has never - not once worked correctly. Looking at the comments for this model at Lowe's and troybilt sites suggest this newer design is simply defective and replacing it bring more of the same. So I am hoping your product will work with it. Thanks!

Anonymous said...

Well no replies on my Troy-Bilt TB539E question but I took a chance and ordered the pivotrim anyway. It came in tonight and had it installed in about 5 min. If anyone has this newer trimmer, follow the straight shaft instructions even though it is a curved shaft model. Can't wait till Saturday to see how it performs....

Anonymous said...

I don't if its me but the first time using this product I had to replace the lines 3 times. The only thing thats good about it is its very easy too change. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE

john new jersey said...

took 5 seconds to install now no more stupid winding and bumping and tangling i never looked back

Mike/Kat said...

I ordered on weds and received today (Sat). Never thought I would buy a $19.95 product (they all are) from a TV ad. Was going to wait until Monday, but had to try it to see if I got screwed like many other items have proven to be a sham.After using I would pay triple the price.. trimmed/edged approx 165' in less than 20 minutes, all against cement (kneewall)or stucco (house). Before took about an hour mostly replacing line..After using line looked like it was never used.. I want to be put on inventors list. I would seriously be interested in being an investor in this guys ingenuity.. THANK you. My wife is delighted, no cussing or bitching about my trimmer. (27cc curved shaft Troy Built). 5 minutes to install..

Anonymous said...

Installed on Ryobi BC30 trimmer, installation was problematic due to the hole in the PivoTrim was larger than shaft size on trimmer. This allowed the head to be off center and cause excess vibration. No bushing is included in the kit, so I had to machine a bushing, also had to use the original shaft extension and bolt. This fixed the mounting problem and allowed the head to run reasonably true. The other issue is the length of the precut PivoTrim lines which only cut 16" diameter, the factory head cut 18" diameter swath, so the lines are 4" short. The trimmer easily pulls the head with 4 lines installed and worked just fine on first try out. Overall a decent product, but needs more hard wear in the kit.

Anonymous said...

For the Ryboi BC30, if you remove the shaft extension it mounts tightly to the shaft. Follow the instructions for option 4 and you will be fine.

lantre said...

Saw the commercial for the first time on television tonight, and decided to look on net for reviews. The reviews are mostly positive and the product sounds very impressive. Though I have an electric line trimmer because of the need for the light weight, and the product isn't compatible with electric trimmers from what I've read on reviews.

Anonymous said...

I bought the pivo trim because like most of you out there your trimmers original head is a pice of junk and very frustrating. However, when I got the pivo-trim I got even more frustrated. the installation guide is horrible. I did everything it said and when I went to start up my trimmer, my pivo-trim head went flying 50 feet across my yard. The website kept bring me to "method 2" when I kept telling it to go to "method 3" I have recently called pivo- trim but they weren't "operating at that moment" I still really have high hopes for it, but my enthusiasm for this product is almost gone. Im sad because it looks like it would work good. Anyway if Pivo-trims phone lines ever open and they help me get it working, I would reccomend this to a friend.

PIVOTRIM said...

Response from PIVOTRIM:
I am sorry that you have experienced a fly-off situation. Our telephone should be accepting phone calls, however, we are only in the office M-F, between 9-5 central time. Please call our office during those hours for further assistance as we can prevent this scenario. It will be helpful if you have your manufacturer and model number handy also and better yet if your trimmer is nearby so we can make sure the Pivotrim is correctly installed. Please call 800-431-4177 or you can e-mail to sales@betterheadsllc.com for e-mail support. Pivotrim Staff

Anonymous said...

does the pivot rim fit a southland xt straight shaft trimmer?

phillip miller said...

i purchased the pivot trim on 7-30-11 and then i bought a toro trimmer. i went out yesterday to trim my front yard,i followed the directions on the product i broke 6 of the 8 lines that came with it just on my front yard so needless to say im not impressed at all.

Solomon said...

First time to ever use a trimmer period. I bought my last weekend and already had Pivotrim trimmer head, all the extra line that came with the New trimmer were all gone that same day because of the high bushes i was cutting, i then replace the head with the pivotrim trimmer head, the difference was like DAY AND NIGHT. This is one product u can buy on TV that will acctually work. Not a fraud, is the real thing.

Anonymous said...

I use a weedeater every day and was NOT impressed with pivotrim. The bottom of it fell apart allowing the red pivots to fall out. Not to mention I had to stop weedeating to replace the string. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Anonymous said...

NEW PivoTrim Installation Guide Now Online!

If you need help installing your pivotrim, please go to our new customer support site at:

WWW.PIVOTRIMHELP.COM

You can click on your model and follow the simple steps to install.

Thanks, Happy Trimming and God Bless,
PivoTrim Customer Support

Anonymous said...

The pivo head is not what i thought it would be. Dirt is a problem when it come time to put in new line can't edge with it and all the line makes my trimmer bog down. I would not recommend this product to any one.

Anonymous said...

Can anyone tell me if this work on my word gr trimmer. I just ordered new string & this batch continues to break ev. few mins. no problems when I first bought it, is battery 24 volt. still1958@ hotmail.com

Anonymous said...

I bought thr pivot trim head and it is more trouble then the head I had on theirt before. I think it sucks. I have never had so much triouble with a trimmer head then I did with this one.

Anonymous said...

STIHL Kombi 130R head with KM straight shaft string attachment.

All I had to do was purchase a 43cent 7/16" inside diameter washer to act as a spacer. My new PivoTrim Pro (29.95) fits nice and firm.

THIS THING IS A WEAPON OF MASS WEED DESTRUCTION.

I encourage you guys to do whatever it takes to MAKE it fit. You will be WAY glad.

btw: The kit that came with PivoTrim "did" include a proper nut. It was only that Stihl built the geared shaft too long (by the thickness of that 7/16" inside diameter washer) on PURPOSE to force us to buy only THEIR string heads - which are total CRAP.

Buy this Pivotrim head and do whatever you have to do to make it fit.

Eight strings - THAT PIVOT - and are EASY TO REPLACE when they finally DO snap off - is the most incredible invention for yard work I've ever seen.

Bill Trail Lawn Care
Macon, Georgia
478.719.8558 Voice & Verizon Text

And YES I am a real guy and NO I don't have any stock or association with the parent company of Pivotrim.

I'm better with text msg because I can't really hear the phone ring on my belt when I'm on my mower or running the Stihl.

Anonymous said...

Made in china gimmick and a waste of money.Makes your 17" trimmer a 14" trimmer.Like using a tinker toy.Totally unempressed!!!spnfil

blueghost alabama said...

seen it on tv couldn"t wait to get it to my amazement it works as well as expected weeds don't stand a chance . i hated weed eating now i cant wait , line lasts a very long time ,40 pcs lasted 2 years just ordered more thanks to the free line for life. if you dont have a pivotrim you need one . thanks pivo trim life is much better sense i own your product

Anonymous said...

Have you made this to fit the black & decker electric trimmers yet?? Come on!! :)

PIVOTRIM said...

We are sorry about your frustration with your Black & Decker electric trimmer. At this time Pivotrim is not compatible with any electric or battery powered trimmers. Most electric and battery trimmers do not have sufficient power to spin a head not specifically designed to be ultra light weight. Putting a heavier after-market product on runs the risk of burning up the motor. Additionally, in nearly half the electric units, the motor is confirgured in the trimmer head not allowing you to even remove the trimmer head. (B&D is an exception). We also do not have the proper hardware to match the variety of thread pitch requirements for these units.

Scotty McArthur said...

Scotty, Saraland, Al.
This design is by far the best thing going. I have had mine for 3 years and I am now ordering replacement string. If you are looking to ease your weed eating experience, then look no further.

Scotty McArthur said...

This design is the best thing going. I have had mine for about 3 years and I am just now ordering replacement line. If you want to make your yard work much easier, then look no further than this. You will not be disappointed.

Anonymous said...

Im pissed the pivotrim does not fit my weedwaker crafsman mdl 316.71102.1 trimme. Its a multi tool model help before i go on a rant!!!!!

tari said...

Can any tell me if the pivot trim will fit my poulan weed eater3 6 amp electric trimmer

power mower said...

Just use this echo trimmer heads in your equipments.It can work nicely and improve your work.

Bert said...

Works fine for everything except clean lawn edging, (it leaves uneven grass when used vertically). Biggest gripe: I've had to replace the plastic shaft that holds the retaining bolt because the bolt torqued the inside of the shaft. Because the bolt is not accessible inside the shaft, I had to saw and chisel my way through the lower part of the shaft to access the hex head of the bolt. This part, (the shaft), should be manufactured out of stronger material so it doesn't get reamed out by the retaining bolt head.

Darrell said...

I'm having a very hard time attaching the pivotrim to my ryobi. Is there a video or better instructions for this.

Cindy Dy said...

Thank you for putting an effort to published this article. You've done a great job! Good bless!

www.gofastek.com